Council of State Science Supervisors
“The voice and vision of science education for the states”

Council of State Science Supervisors Committees

With the purpose of promoting the work of the Council of State Science Supervisors (CSSS) and to facilitate collaboration around issues that the membership and the CSSS Board of Directors (Board) have identified as critical to supporting science education across all states, the Board has formed ad hoc committees. Each ad hoc committee will be led by at least one CSSS state member selected by the Board and will have a Board member assigned as the primary point of contact to the Board. The committee leads will report on committee activity to the Board, at a minimum on a quarterly basis, or in special circumstances, at the request of the Board. 

The ad hoc committees are open to participation from all CSSS members (state, associate, and affiliate). The Board welcomes all members to join one or more of the committees. In addition to the specific purpose of each of the ad hoc committees, all committees are charged with communicating their work to the rest of the organization. These ad hoc committees will remain active as long as the committee and the Board feel that the work is useful for the membership. The Board will evaluate the work of each committee and will decide in the formation of new committees or dissolution of old ones based on the needs of the organization at the annual Board retreat. The Board may also create or dissolve committees at any point it deems necessary.

Access and Equity

The Access and Equity Committee is tasked with identifying research and practices that address the elements of inequity in science education. This committee plans to address achievement gaps among demographic subgroups that have persisted across time. Furthermore, the committee will explore ways that CSSS as an organization can offer viable solutions to these systemic barriers.   


Research Partners

 Board Liaison

Tonyea Mead (DE)

Lauren Kaupp (HI)

Phil Bell (U of WA)
Deb L. Morrison (U of WA)

André DeLeón (NV)
Meg Richard (KS)

Assessing Science Learning

The Assessing Science Learning Committee supports state leaders in developing and providing professional learning for authentic systems of science assessment. We emphasize ideas of three-dimensional formative and summative assessments, applicable across the work of all states. In particular, we work toward assessment systems and items that can provide meaningful information about the learning of all studentsCSSS Assessment Committee Resources

 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison

Noelle Gorbett (OR)
Scott Roskelley (UT)

Aneesha  Badrinarayan (LPI) 
Erin Marie Furtak (CU - Boulder)
Jim Pellegrino (U of Illinois - Chicago)

TJ Heck (MI)

Climate Change Education

The ad-hoc Climate Change Education committee works to support equitable climate change education. The committee has leveraged partnerships with several organizations to provide professional learning and instructional resources.  Climate Change Education Resources.

Co-Chairs    Research Partners  Board Liaison

Peter McLaren (Associate - RI)
Maya Garcia (CO)

Deb L. Morrison (U. of Washington)

Jamie Rumage (OR)

Leadership and Policy

The Leadership and Policy Committee supports state leaders in identifying resources and information pertaining to state and federal policies and funding streams.
 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison
Lauren Kaupp (HI)
Lesa Rohrer (OK)
Jodi Peterson (NSTA)
 Kevin Anderson (WI)

Professional Learning

The Professional Learning Committee works to identify research and practices that help professional development providers design and implement high quality, sustained professional learning opportunities for educators and to provide guidance to state and local leaders about broad criteria they can apply to evaluate professional development plans and activities.  The Science Professional Learning Standards (CSSS, 2018) are now published on the CSSS resources page. 

 Co-Chairs  Research Partners  Board Liaison

Rae McEntyre (KY)
Brett Moulding (Associate - UT)

Bill Penuel (CU-Boulder)

April McCrae (DE)

Supporting Elementary Science

This committee will focus on work that is inherently cross disciplinary and supports effective science instruction for all learners in elementary systems. This includes, but is not limited to, literacy in science, mathematics, and ELA, as well as resources to broadly support and advocate for elementary science. 

Supporting Elementary Science Committee Resources

Co-Chairs   Research Partners  Board Liaison

Amber McCulloch (Associate - WA)  
Kathy Renfrew (Associate - MA)
Kimberley Astle (WA)

Carla Zembal-Saul (Penn State)

Ricky Scott (UT)

Technology and Digital Communications

The Technology and Digital Communications Committee assists the board of directors and membership in fulfilling its oversight responsibilities with respect to the overall role of technology in executing the mission and vision of the organization.

Co-Chair  Board Liaison
Brian Caine (TN) 
Keith Crandall (GA)
 Meg Richard (KS)

Follow our activities

© Council of State Science Supervisors, 2017. 
The Council of State Science Supervisors is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software