Council of State Science Supervisors
“The voice and vision of science education for the states”

Presidential Awards For Excellence In Mathematics & Science Teaching

The National Science Foundation (NSF) administers the Presidential Awards Program for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) for the White House which began in 1983 to highlight excellent teaching in mathematics and the sciences. The PAEMST program is operated under contract from NSF which subcontracts with both the Council of State Science Supervisors (CSSS) and the Association of State Supervisors of Mathematics (ASSM).  Each year a math and science awardee from each state and U.S. territory is selected in a national review process. Presidential awardees earn a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a trip to Washington, D.C. to attend recognition and professional development events, and a $10,000 award from NSF. 

Up to three state-level math and science finalists are chosen by the statewide selection committees composed of teachers, administrators, supervisors, and college or university mathematics and science educators. These committees are directed by the State PAEMST Coordinators.  In alternate years, the process will focus on K-6 or 7-12 teachers. Visit website for more information.

State PAEMST Coordinators conduct their state presidential activities. This includes promoting the awareness, application, selection, and recognition phases of each annual cycle. Many CSSS members are PAEMST science state coordinators.

Nominate an outstanding teacher or apply today!


Send inquiries to
855-723-6780 (PAEMST-0)
Celebrating 35 Years of Excellent Teaching
Join the conversation: 

For questions, contact Michele Snyder, the National Science Presidential Award Coordinator at

Follow our activities

© Council of State Science Supervisors, 2017. 
The Council of State Science Supervisors is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software